May 27th, 2021

11:00 a.m. (CDMX – Bogotá – Lima) | 12:00 m. (Caracas – New York ET)


01:00 p.m. (Brasilia – Buenos Aires – Santiago) 06:00 p.m. (Barcelona – Paris CET)



About this webinar

The Fed’s (Federal Reserve) scale and speed of actions in response to the current crisis are unprecedented, not only within the U.S. but also via its liquidity lines provided to several central banks worldwide. Some questions come up: (i) What motivated the Fed to choose a larger magnitude and coverage of its liquidity lines with some central banks? (ii) What are the effects of these liquidity lines on the economies of the central banks that agreed to them?

To answer and discuss these and other relevant questions, we have invited Professor Hiro Ito, Gurnain Kaur Pasricha, and Professor Joshua Aizenman to present their recent research: Central Bank Swap Arrangements in the COVID-19 Crisis. After the paper presentation, Silvio Costa, Deputy Head at the International Department in the Central Bank of Brazil, will discuss the main findings in the paper.




Biography


Portland State University

Hiro Ito

Professor of Economics

Speaker

Biography


International Monetary Fund

Gurnain Pasricha

Senior Financial Sector Expert

Speaker

Biography


University of Southern California

Joshua Aizenman

Robert R. and Katheryn A. Dockson Chair in Economics and International Relations

Speaker

Biography


Central Bank of Brasil

Silvio Michael Costa

Deputy Head of International Affairs

Discussant